New member from CT

Discussion in 'New Member Welcome Area' started by Sean2202, Mar 7, 2017.

1. Sean2202

Sean2202 Copper BB

Hello all,

I am fairly new to shooting and trying to learn all I can from reading, YouTube videos and trying different weapons at the range.

Currently I have a home defense 12g a small marlin 10 shot 22 with a scope, a xd9mm for concealed carry and a 22 ruger mark3 stainless with a 5 1/2 barrel.

I am looking to purchase a browning buckmark and I see there are many different models and curious as to what others would recommend. I was looking at the stainless version but was curious if it was too similar to the mark 3. What is the opinion on the longer barrel?

Mostly I will use it for target practice with some small game hunting of squirrels.

Thanks for your help
  2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 Guest

Welcome to the Browning Owners Forum !!

Enjoy our community...
  3. XDMBOB

XDMBOB .270 WIN

Welcome to the forum Sean! Longer barrels give a longer sight radius which is a good thing. As far as stainless or whatever, just buy the one you like, and you'll be a happy camper!
  4. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 Guest

As far as the Buck Mark...I can attest to it's accuracy, as I have owned one for over 20 years.

[​IMG]

And yes...I hunt squirrels with it occasionally. Also have two Marlin .22 rifles ( Model 80C and Model 60 ) to help cull the population.

Currently...the Browning website shows over 20 models:

http://www.browning.com/products/firearms/pistols/buck-mark-pistols/current-production.html

Showing just about every configuration under the sun...including suppressor ready models...and railed models with 7 1/4" barrels ready for optics.

Any one of them would be perfect for squirrels and target shooting.

But...if I were to buy one right now, it would be one with a longer barrel, ready for a suppressor.
  5. XDMBOB

XDMBOB .270 WIN

Nice shooter.......Shooter!
    SHOOTER13 likes this.
  6. Sean2202

Sean2202 Copper BB