New Guy from the People's Republic of Maryland

Discussion in 'New Member Welcome Area' started by ClemY, Dec 21, 2017.

1. ClemY

ClemY Copper BB

I am an old "new" living in MD. My background is that after graduating from the UofD, I went into the Marine Corps to fly. I got to fly the F-4. If you like to go fast, this is one way.
    After the service I went to work for the DoD, retiring in 2004. I then worked as a support contractor retiring for good in 2013. Now I have plenty of time to go to the range.
    I have been a shooter since grade school. I shot small bore rifle in high school and college, then moved into handgun silhouette, IPSC and CAS. These days I am shooting 3-gun in club matches. My shotgun is a 75 yr. old Remington Model 11, but I am in the processes of modifying an Auto 5 as well.
    Rudolph31 and SHOOTER13 like this.
  2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 Guest

Welcome to the Browning Owners Forum Marine !!

Thank You for Your Service to Our Great Nation...

Enjoy our community.
  3. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

Welcome to the forum!

What modifications are you making to your Auto-5?

Also, I used to go fast. Not as fast as a Phantom, but the food sure was better!

[​IMG]
    SHOOTER13 likes this.
  4. ClemY

ClemY Copper BB

The big iron. Never had the opportunity to try.
    The Model 11 has a 24" barrel, extended mag to give it 10+1 capacity, is threaded for Tru-choke removable chokes, and has an MMC rear sight with a ramp front sight. Shoots slugs and everything else very well. I am essentially duplicating it with a '89 vintage Auto 5. It has a 28" barrel with removable chokes. I got an extended mag for it and am bidding on a 24" slug barrel. If I get the barrel I will put an LPA rear sight on it. Makes it into a nice toy to play with.
    Rudolph31 likes this.
  5. Leland Craig

Leland Craig .22LR

Thank you for your service, and welcome. Hard to beat an A5 if it doesn't beat you first. :).

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
  6. ClemY