Special steel double sprinted

Discussion in 'Browning Auto A-5' started by murphranch, Feb 25, 2020.

1. murphranch

murphranch .410

I picked up a really nice A-5 Special Steel Magnum for a great price. When I asked the man selling it he told me it would not cycle after being fired. Anyway for the price he was asking-$275-I took it. Would’ve been a fool not to I thought. After getting it home I dissembled it and found it to have 2 recoil springs threaded together on it. Why? What for? Is there supposed to be 2? Would appreciate any info. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  2. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

Hi,

I am not an expert on Magnums, but I have read that early examples had the two springs as you describe. Getting them to run target ammo is something not everyone is successful with either. I suspect that’s what the previous owner was trying to shoot.

The diagram shows the correct friction setup for 2 3/4” and 3” shells. But think of the 2 3/4” as High Brass, not target ammo.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    murphranch likes this.
  3. Ranger6

Ranger6 Administrator Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator Forum Moderator

Correct two springs was the normal on the old guns with original springs. If you want to shoot target loads, set it up like a light 12 and it will fire target loads. Mine will fire 1 oz loads all day long. If you forget and shoot magnum loads set that way, you will be in for a surprise.
    And yes you have to use a light 12 spring also.
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2020
    murphranch and Rudolph31 like this.
  4. murphranch

murphranch .410

Thank you guys. Appreciate the help.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  5. Ranger6

Ranger6 Administrator Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator Forum Moderator