Mystery F/N Superposed

Discussion in 'Browning Superposed Shotgun' started by Alexander Drotschmann, Aug 21, 2018.

1. I have a little bit of a challenge for superposed experts here on this forum. I am no newbie to the Browning superposed/B-25 and know a fare bit about the Browning guns, but this one has me wondering and its a gun my family owns. The shotgun I am talking about has been in y family since the early/mid 70s. My dad bought it used. And I was the one shooting it growing up and in competition before I moved to the US 30 years ago. Since I am from Germany and that;s where the gun still is, it is a FN superposed, not Browning branded official US import. It is a pre-1971 gun since it still has the barrel engraving Fabrique Nationale d'Armes de Guerre before the renaming of the company in October 1971 and I believe it is post-1966 gun because I believe it is a short tang gun. It is a 12 gage standard (no or little engravings/blued receiver) , square knob with highly unusual 74" / 86 cm barrels with full/full choke, which is super unusual in my view, but would of course make it a trap gun. The serial number is 51815NT also a number that does not follow Browning protocol and I am stumped to be able to determine what it is by the serial number. It is definitely a FN superposed as the non-removable and typical superposed forearm attachment shows. Unfortunately I have currently no pictures or more info since the gun is in storage, but I will see it in November when I go back to visit my folks. Anyone able to help out in the meanwhile? Thank you!