Found a Hi Power with shoulder stock and holster- 4-digit SN

Discussion in 'Browning Hi Power Handgun' started by R.G. Shaw, May 31, 2020.

1. R.G. Shaw

R.G. Shaw .22LR

Hi All,
    I am new here; have just posted in the New Member Welcome area. (Greetings from the Netherlands)
    The Hi Power I have recently agreed to purchase is in very nice condition.... This gun has a four digit SN, but finding information about the year of manufacture is difficult. Must be before 1945, since the shoulder stock was discontinued during WWII? (Not sure if the shoulder stock is matched to the gun.)

I would welcome any and all feedback from you experts out there.... Many thanks!
  2. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

Hello and welcome.

While I own a Hi Power I’m not an expert. And though I knew that Inglis of Canada made the pistols with stock holsters, I wasn’t aware that FN did.

The only book I’m aware of covers all the FN pistols. Unfortunately shipping to Europe is very expensive, and there’s a chance it won’t cover what you need to know.

https://www.fnbrowning.com/fn-browning-pistols
  3. R.G. Shaw

R.G. Shaw .22LR

Followed your link to the site- looks great! I also have an FN 1910 and 1922; I can order it from a large bookstore here in Venlo.
    Many thanks!

Do you know anyting about any correlation of the Browning 4-digit serial numbers with the year of manufacture?
  4. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

5. R.G. Shaw

R.G. Shaw .22LR

Ahh great!!
  6. Soundguy

Soundguy .410

Serial numbers are often not helpful as they were re-used at different time. Detailed photos of the entire gun, including the sights and any proof marks on different parts may help to determine an approximate date of manufacture and assembly. Plus... I'm sure we'd all enjoy seeing pictures of your High Power!

My favorite books for High Power info are 'The Browning High Power Automatic Pistol' by R. Blake Stevens, and 'FN Browning Pistols' by Anthony Vanderlinden. Both offer different clues.