1971 superposed serial numbers

Discussion in 'Browning Superposed Shotgun' started by TIM TOWN, Feb 20, 2020.

1. TIM TOWN

TIM TOWN Copper BB

I’m looking into buying a 20ga 1971 superposed. The serial number does not match up with what the Browning website list. Serial number reads 895v71. Any help would be appreciated also gun is in amazing condition. Curious of what a fair price would be? Thank you.
  2. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

The Browning website was is incomplete and error ridden. Your serial number is consistent with those used from 1963 to 1976.

http://www.nramuseum.org/media/940941/serialization-date of manufacture.pdf

As far as value as is concerned, I’m no expert, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it brought $2000, maybe more. The best way to find out is to see what similar guns on Gun Broker actually sold for. That’s not the same as looking at asking prices.

EDIT: Out of curiosity, I checked and found these:

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/854023950

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/855735754

I have no idea why their price differed by $1000. Hopefully you do.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2020
    Anatidae likes this.
  3. TIM TOWN

TIM TOWN Copper BB

Thank you so much for the information! I can’t quite tell the difference between the two guns that you shared a like to. I was prepared to give $2000 for the gun and it makes me a lot more comfortable now after what you’ve said. It’s also a lighting model if that changes anything.
  4. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

It may, but I’m not familiar enough with the type to say how much, or even which way. But it may be a while before you see another one, so if you really want it, don’t let it get away.
    Anatidae likes this.
  5. Anatidae

Anatidae .270 WIN