Browning 1911-380 Handgun troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Browning 1911 - 380 Handgun' started by Billythekid, Jun 29, 2015.

1. Sight fell off?
  2. I got the Pro model to avoid the plastic sights which fall off. I had to get the night sights which don't work for me but they don't fall off. I do feel your pain.
  3. TexasPete

TexasPete .22LR

Calamity, With my old eyeballs acquiring a clear front sight picture is always a challenge. With no front sight...no problem ;)
    Calamity Jane likes this.
  4. You have a point. I'm new to guns. I haven't learned how to shoot without sights yet.
  5. Ron Karl

Ron Karl Copper BB

I was pretty disappointed after my first trip to the range with my 1911-380 pro compact. A lot of failures to feed with both of the magazines. I found this thread, and tightened up the lips on both magazines. Ran 200 rounds through the pistol today, and only 2 failures to feed. Much better. I'm using Fiocchi FMJ. I'll give the pistol a good cleaning and lube and try another 200. This thing is pretty darn accurate, best shooter that I own so far. Is any company making after market parts for the pistol yet? I'd like to eliminate the RH safety lever, and also have the grip safety tweaked. I've had a few instances where if I don't have a correct grip on the gun, the grip safety is not disengaging.
    SHOOTER13 likes this.
  6. I pretty much had the same experience. I don't know about any after market parts except for some Rassco grips. There is a video on the internet explaining how to take 1/1000 inch off your grip safety so it is not so finicky about your grip. I had a gunsmith file off a little and now the grip safety is 100 % at the range and 99% when dry firing. The gun is back at Browning being fixed for a minor problem. I miss it. What kind of sights do you have?
  7. Ron Karl

Ron Karl Copper BB

I have the steel white dot sights. Thanks for the tip on the internet video, I'll see if I can find it.