A .410 A5?!!!!!

Discussion in 'Browning Auto A-5' started by Bill Idaho, Jul 28, 2020.

1. Bill Idaho

Bill Idaho .270 WIN

Yep, you heard it here first. I think.

I inherited my father's machine shop when he died way back in 1977--lathe, milling machine, shaper, etc. I worked on guns to feed my kids from 1975-1980. I have been certified in several welding criteria. And to top things off, I worked full time as a machinist from 1982 to 2004. I built a box-fed Remington 870 in the early 1990s, to include making a whole trigger assembly to work with the box magazines I made. I made my own falling block style rifle that shoots .50 BMG. Everything except the barrel was home made. Heck, I even built and raced a funnybike in the 90s, again building the engine and frame myself.

By no means am I bragging. Seriously. Just setting the background for my announcement.

I have decided now that I have been retired for a few years, I am now longer raising my grand-daughter, and I successfully divorced my wife---my bucket list consists of a total of ONE item---to build a .410 A5!!!! I am 98% certain as long as I don't sell it I would be completely legal, and it would be just difficult enough to make it interesting. I already have a couple of Remington 870s in 12/209/.410 so I figure I could use those dimensional differences regarding what measurements would have to be scaled down for the smaller bore, etc, and what dimensions would stay closer to "normal/standard" size, such as LOP, etc.