Scope for xbolt 308

Discussion in 'Browning X-Bolt Rifle' started by stevedore, Nov 4, 2017.

1. stevedore

stevedore Copper BB

This is a likely a very stupid question and I think I know the answer but I’m new to scopes, ... I have a Nikon Prostaff 3-9x40 22LR scope that i bought for my Ruger 10/22 but didn’t like it cuz it made the otherwise light plinker too heavy and bulky with little gain in accuracy. So I put it on my new xbolt in 308 and can’t site it in as I’ve maxxed out the ‘up’ adjustment and am still way too low. I’m pretty sure it’s just cuz it’s a scope designed for 22LR but not entirely sure so thought I’d post just to double check ... and be laughed at! Thx!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 Guest

Welcome...

I will defer your question to the experts here...
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2017
  3. stevedore

stevedore Copper BB

Thx for the reply! I first tried sighting in from about 80 yards but didn’t even hit the target. So then I moved in to about 20 yards but then I maxxed out the ‘up’ adjustment on my scope and was still 7 inches too low. If i have to buy a new scope then I certainly will, ... I just thought I’d try this one as a beginner. I also wanted to understand technically why it will or won’t work for this rifle. I’ll be hunting deer and probably shooting between 80-150 yards.

4. I think a 22 scope has a 50 yard parallax were a big caliber scope has a 100 yard parallax, experts help out here..
    stevedore likes this.
  5. stevedore

stevedore Copper BB

I guess that would account for why at 20 yds I was still significantly under my bulls eye and unable to adjust further up.

6. Wren1911

Wren1911 .22LR

What is the scope attached to the rifle with?
  7. wafiwhacker

wafiwhacker .22LR

I️ have the same scope on a T-Bolt. Great scope.
    As others have said, although not ideal and recoil could possibly damage the scope, you should be able to sight in at 25 / 100yds.